YOUNG Hawk Harry Morrison will wear the No.1 on his back next year in honour of his late godfather and former Hawthorn premiership player and coach Ken Judge.

Judge, who also played for Brisbane and coached West Coast, died almost three years ago on his 58th birthday after a long battle with cancer.

CLUB LISTS COMPARED Oldest? Youngest? Most experienced? 

Morrison, one of the Hawks' brightest prospects, wore No.35 in his first two seasons at Waverley Park.

Judge played 72 of his 89 career matches for Hawthorn, including winning the club's best first-year player in 1983, when he and the Hawks won the flag.

FUTURE PICKS Who you should barrack against in 2019 

It is the first time since ruckman-turned-coach Max Bailey in 2009 that a Hawthorn player will be in the No.1. 

Hawks football boss Graham Wright said Morrison was the ideal choice once they decided to reinstate the number. 

"The No.1 guernsey has been reserved for our fans for almost a decade," Wright said. 

"It's been a really special initiative that we value within our club, and the No.1 fan program will certainly continue for years to come, albeit under a different name.

"As a club, we felt fans and members alike were ready to see the No.1 back out on the field.

"Harry is a promising young player and a great clubman, and he's humbled to get the opportunity to share his godfather's jumper number."

Fellow emerging talent James Worpel also moved into single digits, becoming the latest Hawthorn footballer to don the No.5, taking over from ex-Hawk Ryan Burton.

Among the past wearers are Sam Mitchell, Daniel Harford, Andy Collins, the late Peter Crimmins – the man the Hawks' club champion award is named after – and Alec Albiston.

WHO'S LEAVING YOUR CLUB? All the latest retirements and delistings 

The other Hawthorn players to switch numbers were Mitch Lewis (eight, left vacant by Taylor Duryea's departure), Irishmen Conor Nash (11) and Conor Glass (13), and rookie Changkuoth Jiath (29).

Blue-chip newcomers Chad Wingard (20) and Tom Scully (21) revealed their brown and gold numbers, along with Jack Scrimshaw (35), Darren Minchington (38) and Tim Mohr (39).

Draftees Mat Walker (33, fellow Aboriginal Cyril Rioli's former number), Jacob Koschitzke (34), Will Golds (45) and Damon Greaves (44) also know what they will be wearing in 2019.


1 Harry Morrison
2 Jarryd Roughead
3 Tom Mitchell
4 Jarman Impey
5 James Worpel
6 James Sicily
7 Ben McEvoy
8 Mitchell Lewis
9 Shaun Burgoyne
10 Jaeger O’Meara
11 Conor Nash
12 James Frawley
13 Conor Glass
14 Grant Birchall
15 Blake Hardwick
16 Isaac Smith
17 Daniel Howe
18 Jonathon Ceglar
19 Jack Gunston
20 Chad Wingard
21 Tom Scully
22 Luke Breust
23 Tim O’Brien
24 Ben Stratton
25 Ryan Schoenmakers
26 Liam Shiels
27 Marc Pittonet
28 Paul Puopolo
29 Changkouth Jiath
30 Kaiden Brand
31 Ricky Henderson
32 David Mirra
33 Mathew Walker
34 Jacob Koschitzke
35 Jack Scrimshaw
36 Dylan Moore
37 Jackson Ross
38 Darren Minchington
39 Tim Mohr
40 Harry Jones
41 Oliver Hanrahan
42 Teia Miles
44 Damon Greaves
45 Will Golds
46 James Cousins