THE AFL Grand Final between Richmond and Greater Western Sydney starts at 2.30pm AEST on Saturday, September 28.

MEGA-PREVIEW Can Giants rattle the Tiger cage at the MCG?  

It is the first time the Giants have played in a Grand Final, while Richmond is aiming to win its 12th premiership cup.

The last time Richmond won the flag was in 2017, the same year they beat the Giants in a preliminary final.

AFL Final Pathway

GWS have lost preliminary finals in 2017 and 2016, but won its first prelim against Collingwood last Saturday.

Richmond, as the highest-ranked team, will wear its home guernsey and home shorts, while the Giants will wear their white away strip with white shorts.


UMPIRES REVEALED AFL makes razor-sharp call

This year's decider is in safe hands with Matt Stevic preparing to umpire his sixth Grand Final in a row (and seventh overall) alongside fellow experienced field umpires Shaun Ryan (eighth Grand Final) and Ray Chamberlain (third).

Between them, they've officiated more than 100 finals.

Umpires Matt Stevic, Ray Chamberlain and Shaun Ryan. Picture: AFL Photos
Grand Final Umpires

Starting times for those watching around the world

United Kingdom: 5.30am, Saturday
Europe: 6.30am, Saturday (western); 7.30am, Saturday (eastern)
USA: 9.30pm, Friday (west coast); 12.30am, Saturday (east coast)
Dubai: 8.30am, Saturday
New Zealand: 4.30pm, Saturday
Thailand: 11.30am, Saturday
Japan: 1.30pm, Saturday
Bali: 12.30pm, Saturday

Overseas? Grab your Watch AFL Global Pass here or find a party in your region of the world here

Who is performing at the Grand Final?

Australian music icon Paul Kelly will headline the Virgin Australia Pre-Game Show at the 2019 AFL Grand Final.

He will be supported by Dean Lewis and Tones and I, in line-up with a very local feel.

Kelly previously performed at the 2012 Grand Final alongside Tim Rogers and the Temper Trap.

Grand Final Entertainment

How to follow Grand Final day on and the AFL Live Official App

- Watch the big game on the AFL Live Official App
- Live coverage throughout the day including full match centre with all the stats and video highights
- Live vision of the Under-17 All Star game at the MCG from 10am AEST
- The latest weather information straight from the Bureau of Meteorology

- Latest pictures from our team of photographers
- All the news from the game including comprehensive match report, player ratings and in-depth interviews with players and coaches.

Saturday, September 28

10am: Under-17 NAB All Stars Futures game at the MCG (Watch it LIVE on and the AFL Live Official App)

1.00pm: Team sheet submission

1.26pm: Motorcade
Retiring players: Michael Rischitelli, Mark Lecras, Sam Gilbert, Aaron Sandilands, Dale Thomas, Jarrad McVeigh, Kieren Jack, Heath Grundy, Nick Smith, Dale Morris, Liam Picken, Scott Thompson, Daniel Wells, Jarryd Roughead, Jordan Lewis, Shaun Grigg, Brett Deledio. 
Umpires: Scott Jeffery, Shane McInerney.
Brownlow Medallist: Nat Fyfe.
Football Woman of the Year: Shelley Ware.
NAB AFL Rising Star: Sam Walsh.
NAB AFL Women's Rising Star: Madison Prespakis.
NAB AFL Auskicker of the Year: Mac Monaghan.
NAB AFL Women's Leading Goalkicker: Stevie-Lee Thompson.
Australian cricketers: Meg Lanning, Pat Cummins.

1.34pm – 2.10pm: Grand Final entertainment

2.11pm: Umpires enter the field

2.13pm: Giants players enter the field

2.16pm: Tigers players enter the field

2.26pm: National anthem

2.28pm: Coin toss

2.30pm: Opening bounce for the AFL Grand Final

What happens if scores are level at full-time?

- There will be a six-minute break

- There will be two five-minute halves, plus time on. The first period teams will kick to the same end in fourth quarter before swapping for the second period.

- If the scores are still tied at the end of the second period, the siren will not ring until the next score, which will decide the winner.

BUCKLEY OUT, BLACK IN Former September stars to present key Grand Final medals

Medal presenters

After winning the 2003 Norm Smith Medal, Brisbane legend Simon Black will hand over the 2019 edition to the player judged best on ground in the Grand Final.

The Norm Smith Medal is traditionally presented by a previous winner in chronological order and it's actually Collingwood coach Nathan Buckley's turn after his 2002 win. As Buckley was a chance of coaching in the GF, Black was elected to do the honours.

The judges are Alastair Lynch (Fox Footy, Chairperson), Chris Johnson (NIRS), Matthew Lloyd (3AW), Bruce McAvaney (Channel 7) and Angela Pippos (ABC).

Port Adelaide's 2004 premiership coach Mark Williams will present the Jock McHale Medal to the winning coach.

Finals Launch

Giant names to present cup

Maureen Hafey and Kevin Sheedy have been invited by Richmond and Greater Western Sydney respectively to present the 2019 AFL premiership cup to the winning team.

Since 2004, the AFL has asked each club to nominate a representative to be on hand to present the cup.

Hafey is a life member of the Richmond Football Club. Her husband was the late, great Tommy Hafey, a Tiger immortal and four-time premiership coach.

Sheedy is the Giants' inaugural coach and, of course, was coached by Tommy when he was a famous "back-pocket plumber" for the Tigers.

Sheedy is also a coaching legend with four cups to his name.

Maureen Hafey with the premiership cup at Punt Road Oval. Picture: AFL Photos

Anytime Fitness Grand Final Sprint

Adelaide: Jake Kelly
Brisbane: Noah Answerth
Carlton: Paddy Dow
Collingwood: Will Hoskin-Elliott
Essendon: Dylan Clarke
Fremantle: Andrew Brayshaw
Geelong: TBC
Gold Coast: Ben King
Greater Western Sydney: Dylan Buckley
Hawthorn: Changkuoth Jiath
Melbourne: Sam Frost
North Melbourne: Taylor Garner
Port Adelaide: Connor Rozee
Richmond: Noah Balta
St Kilda: Nick Hind
Sydney: James Rowbottom
West Coast: Jackson Nelson
Western Bulldogs: Ed Richards