Luke Jackson, Josh Daicos and Nick Blakey. Pictures: AFL Photos

MINOR premier Collingwood is the best-represented club in the AFL All-Australian squad of 44, with five Magpies in the mix to win a coveted blazer.

Brownlow Medal favourite Nick Daicos is joined by his brother Josh, while Jordan De Goey, Isaac Quaynor and captain Darcy Moore have all been named.

Every one of the 18 clubs is represented, with Oscar Allen's 53 goals for West Coast and Nick Larkey's 71 for North Melbourne deservedly getting recognition for the bottom two clubs.


Brownlow medallist Dustin Martin is Richmond's only nominee.

There are some surprise omissions in the squad. Richmond recruit Tim Taranto and six-time All-Australian Max Gawn have been overlooked, as have Greater Western Sydney full-back Sam Taylor, Geelong pair Jeremy Cameron and Gryan Miers as well as Adelaide small forward Izak Rankine.

Max Gawn leads Melbourne out against Carlton in round 22, 2023. Picture: AFL Photos

Tim English and Rowan Marshall are in line to win their first blazers as All-Australian ruckmen, as is Luke Jackson, who left Melbourne as Gawn's sidekick last year to join Fremantle.

Giants defender Taylor has been left out after playing just 15 games this season, while De Goey (18 games) has been selected with the least senior appearances.


Harris Andrews, Pies skipper Moore, Jacob Weitering and Callum Wilkie are the genuine key defensive options.

Veterans Taylor Walker, Tom Liberatore, Stephen Coniglio and Jack Viney are all seeking their first AA jackets after fabulous seasons earned them nominations.

Young Hawk Jai Newcombe, Giant Tom Green, Sun Noah Anderson, Swan Nick Blakey and Port's Zak Butters are notable 'generation next' selections who are seeking their first jackets.

Zak Butters celebrates after the match between Essendon and Port Adelaide at the MCG on July 1, 2023. Picture: AFL Photos

Incredibly, only 14 players from last year's squad of 44 have been named again.

The final 22-man All-Australian team will be announced at the AFL Awards on Wednesday night.

The official 2023 All-Australian selection panel is comprised of: Gillon McLachlan (chairperson), Kevin Bartlett, Eddie Betts, Jude Bolton, Nathan Buckley, Kane Cornes, Andrew Dillon, Glen Jakovich, Laura Kane, Cameron Ling and Matthew Pavlich.

STATEMENT All-Australian selectors name 44-man squad

2023 AFL ALL-AUSTRALIAN SQUAD: Oscar Allen, Noah Anderson, Harris Andrews, Nick Blakey, Marcus Bontempelli, Luke Breust, Zak Butters, Charlie Cameron, Stephen Coniglio, Patrick Cripps, Charlie Curnow, Josh Daicos, Nick Daicos, Joe Daniher, Jordan Dawson, Jordan de Goey, Tim English, Tom Green, Toby Greene, Errol Gulden, Daniel Houston, Luke Jackson, Kyle Langford, Nick Larkey, Tom Liberatore, Rowan Marshall, Dustin Martin, Zach Merrett, Darcy Moore, Lachie Neale, Jai Newcombe, Christian Petracca, Isaac Quaynor, Mason Redman, Connor Rozee, Luke Ryan, Caleb Serong, James Sicily, Jack Sinclair, Tom Stewart, Jack Viney, Taylor Walker, Jacob Weitering, Callum Wilkie

Squad members by club

5 - Collingwood
4 - Brisbane
3 - Carlton, Essendon, Fremantle, GWS, Hawthorn, Port Adelaide, St Kilda, Western Bulldogs
2 - Melbourne, Sydney, Adelaide
1 -  Geelong, Gold Coast, North Melbourne, Richmond, West Coast

Jordan Dawson
Never previously All-Australian

Taylor Walker
Never previously All-Australian

Harris Andrews
2019 and 2020 All-Australian

Charlie Cameron
2019 All-Australian

Joe Daniher
2017 All-Australian

Lachie Neale
2019, 2020 and 2022 All-Australian

Patrick Cripps
2018, 2019 and 2022 All-Australian

Charlie Curnow
2022 All-Australian

Jacob Weitering
Never previously All-Australian

Josh Daicos
Never previously All-Australian

Nick Daicos
Never previously All-Australian

Jordan de Goey
Never previously All-Australian

Darcy Moore
2020 All-Australian

Isaac Quaynor
Never previously All-Australian

Kyle Langford
Never previously All-Australian

Zach Merrett
2017 and 2021 All-Australian

Mason Redman
Never previously All-Australian

Luke Jackson
Never previously All-Australian

Luke Ryan
2020 All-Australian

Caleb Serong
Never previously All-Australian

Tom Stewart
2018, 2019, 2021 and 2022 All-Australian

Noah Anderson
Never previously All-Australian

Stephen Coniglio
Never previously All-Australian

Tom Green
Never previously All-Australian

Toby Greene
2016 and 2021 All-Australian

Luke Breust
2014 and 2018 All-Australian

Jai Newcombe
Never previously All-Australian

James Sicily
Never previously All-Australian

Christian Petracca
2020, 2021 and 2022 All-Australian

Jack Viney
Never previously All-Australian

Nick Larkey
Never previously All-Australian

Zak Butters
Never previously All-Australian

Daniel Houston
Never previously All-Australian

Connor Rozee
2022 All-Australian

Dustin Martin
2016, 2017, 2018 and 2020 All-Australian

Rowan Marshall
Never previously All-Australian

Jack Sinclair
2022 All-Australian

Callum Wilkie
Never previously All-Australian

Nick Blakey
Never previously All-Australian

Errol Gulden
Never previously All-Australian

Oscar Allen
Never previously All-Australian

Marcus Bontempelli
2016, 2019, 2020 and 2021 All-Australian

Tim English
Never previously All-Australian

Tom Liberatore
Never previously All-Australian