Jean-Luc Velissaris of the Northern Bullants in action during the 2024 Smithy's VFL season. Photo: Rob Lawson/AFL Photos

SYDNEY will regain ruckman Lachlan McAndrew for its must-win Smithy’s VFL clash with the Northern Bullants at Tramway Oval on Friday.

McAndrew missed last week’s loss to Frankston due to concussion and his return will be welcomed by a Swans team that is also without Peter Ladhams for the same reason.

The Swans have yet to beat the Bullants in two previous encounters, going down at Blacktown in 2022 and Preston last year and can ill-afford another slip-up if they want to stay in touch with the top 10.

Goalkickers James Lugsdin and Hamish Morrison also return to the team alongside second-gamer Koby Grass, with superstar Luke Parker to miss through suspension for his bump on Frankston’s Josh Smith last week.

The Bullants will have a debutant, with Bundoora’s Harry Butterworth given a seat on the plane to Sydney after being in the best in three of his past four Northern league games.

Meanwhile Jack Chubb has recovered from a shoulder injury to take his place in the line-up shooting for a second victory in three games.

All matches in the 2024 Smithy’s VFL and VFLW seasons will be live streamed free via the AFL website, AFL Live Official App and VFL App.

Smithy’s VFL broadcast partner, the Seven Network, will broadcast select matches live and free on the Seven Network in Victoria and on 7plus nationally. This week’s broadcast game will be Werribee vs North Melbourne.


Friday 24 May, 12:05pm, Tramway Oval
Head-to-Head: Northern Bullants 2-0; At Tramway Oval: Never Met; Streak: Northern Bullants 2; Last Time: Northern Bullants 14.9 (93) def Sydney 9.12 (66) – April 23, 2023, Genis Steel Oval

J. Endemann (57), B. Laws (64)*, J. Magor (32)
HB: P. Snell (41), J. Hamling (29), C. Vickery (25)
C: N. Shipley (52), C. Mitchell (35), M. Geddes (61)
HF: Har. Morrison (55), J. Buller (39), I. Kirk (31)
F: P. Moi Moi (56), W. Green (45), J. Konstanty (18)
R: L. McAndrew (46), A. Sheldrick (12), C. Cleary (33)
INT: K. Grass (66), J. Lugsdin (67), J. Bartholomaeus (53), B. Edwards (50), Ham. Morrison (62)
EMG: B. Ashley-Cooper (51), T. Gander (63), M. Velthuis (60), W. Smit (65)

IN: K. Grass, J. Lugsdin, L. McAndrew, Ham. Morrison
OUT: L. Parker (suspended), B. Ashley-Cooper, T. Gander, W. Smit

J. Hamilton (15), W. Wallace (12), E. Mantas (28)
HB: L. Mackie (4), T. Waack (47), M. King (10)
C: W. Wuol (19), J. Velissaris (3), S. El-Hawli (18)
HF: C. Franks (13), J. Jorgensen (1), M. Goodman (16)
F: H. Andronaco (35), J. Chubb (44), R. McKenzie (42)
R: L. Green (50), P. Fairlie (45), S. Donegan (34)
INT: B. Tome (21), A. Jacobs (11), A. Hilton (32), L. Edmonds (31), H. Butterworth (22)
EMG: Z. Hart (2), K. Brown (30), J. McCormick (5)

IN: H. Butterworth, J. Chubb
OUT: C. Barbaro, Z. Hart
NEW: Harry Butterworth, 20, Bundoora

* denotes 23rd Player

FIELD: 10. Chris Brackenrig, 16. Joe O’Brien, 48. Brad Stewart. BOUNDARY: Ben Duce, Harry Hansford, Scott Hansford, Charlie Powell. GOAL: Nick Ford, Morgan Lee.