BROWNLOW Medal favourite Patrick Dangerfield has missed out on a nomination for the AFL Players' Association Most Valuable Player award for the second year running. 

The Geelong superstar has been in outstanding form, but his teammates voted for Mark Blicavs, Tom Hawkins and Tim Kelly for the prestigious peer-voted award, due to be presented on Thursday night.

FINALS PREDICTOR Who will win the 2019 premiership?

The award sees players choosing three teammates, with the three nominees then presented to the entire AFL player population to vote for a winner. Players cannot vote for their teammates in the second stage. 

Dangerfield was awarded his seventh Virgin Australia AFL All Australian guernsey on Wednesday night, with teammate Tom Stewart, Eagles Shannon Hurn and Jack Darling, Tiger Bachar Houli and Brisbane forward Charlie Cameron the other All Australians to miss out on an MVP nomination. 

North Melbourne star key forward Ben Brown somewhat contentiously missed out on an All Australian nod this year, and also didn't receive an MVP nomination, with the Roos selecting Ben Cunnington, Shaun Higgins and Robbie Tarrant.

Players who may have slipped under the radar of opposition fans who were recognised by their teammates include Gold Coast's Darcy Macpherson and Port Adelaide's Darcy Byrne-Jones.

Other awards to be announced on Thursday night include Most Courageous, Best First Year and Best Captain, which every skipper is automatically nominated for. 


MVP: Brad Crouch, Alex Keath, Rory Sloane
Most Courageous: Alex Keath
Best First Year: Chayce Jones
Captain: Rory Sloane, Taylor Walker


MVP: Harris Andrews, Lachie Neale, Dayne Zorko
Most Courageous: Mitch Robinson
Best First Year: Noah Answerth
Captain: Dayne Zorko


MVP: Patrick Cripps, Sam Walsh, Jacob Weitering
Most Courageous: Liam Jones
Best First Year: Sam Walsh
Captain: Patrick Cripps, Sam Docherty


MVP: Jordan De Goey, Brodie Grundy, Scott Pendlebury
Most Courageous: Levi Greenwood
Best First Year: Isaac Quaynor
Captain: Scott Pendlebury


MVP: Zach Merrett, Dylan Shiel, Jake Stringer
Most Courageous: Patrick Ambrose
Best First Year: Brayden Ham
Captain: Dyson Heppell


MVP: Nat Fyfe, Bradley Hill, Michael Walters
Most Courageous: Ethan Hughes
Best First Year: Lachlan Schultz
Captain: Nat Fyfe


MVP: Mark Blicavs, Tom Hawkins, Tim Kelly
Most Courageous: Joel Selwood
Best First Year: Jordan Clark
Captain: Joel Selwood


MVP: Darcy Macpherson, David Swallow, Jarrod Witts
Most Courageous: David Swallow
Best First Year: Ben King
Captain: David Swallow, Jarrod Witts


MVP: Jeremy Cameron, Nick Haynes, Lachie Whitfield
Most Courageous: Nick Haynes
Best First Year: Jackson Hately
Captain: Phil Davis, Callan Ward


MVP: Ricky Henderson, Ben McEvoy, Jaeger O'Meara
Most Courageous: Blake Hardwick
Best First Year: Mathew Walker
Captain: Ben Stratton


MVP: Max Gawn, James Harmes, Clayton Oliver
Most Courageous: Sam Frost
Best First Year: Marty Hore
Captain: Nathan Jones, Jack Viney


MVP: Ben Cunnington, Shaun Higgins, Robbie Tarrant
Most Courageous: Jed Anderson
Best First Year: Tarryn Thomas
Captain: Jack Ziebell


MVP: Travis Boak, Darcy Byrne-Jones, Tom Clurey
Most Courageous: Darcy Byrne-Jones
Best First Year: Connor Rozee
Captain: Tom Jonas, Ollie Wines


MVP: Dylan Grimes, Dustin Martin, Dion Prestia
Most Courageous: Dylan Grimes
Best First Year: Sydney Stack
Captain: Trent Cotchin


MVP: Jack Billings, Rowan Marshall, Jack Steele
Most Courageous: Jarryn Geary
Best First Year: Callum Wilkie
Captain: Jarryn Geary


MVP: George Hewett, Luke Parker, Dane Rampe
Most Courageous: Callum Mills
Best First Year: Nick Blakey
Captain: Josh Kennedy, Luke Parker, Dane Rampe


MVP: Jeremy McGovern, Luke Shuey, Elliot Yeo
Most Courageous: Brad Sheppard
Best First Year: Jarrod Cameron
Captain: Shannon Hurn


MVP: Marcus Bontempelli, Josh Dunkley, Jackson Macrae
Most Courageous: Hayden Crozier
Best First Year: Bailey Smith
Captain: Easton Wood