ESSENDON spearhead Joe Daniher has taken out the Woolworths Mark of the Year in a boilover over Collingwood high-flyer Jeremy Howe.

Daniher won the fan vote for his screamer against St Kilda in round 17. He earned 52 per cent of the vote ahead of Howe's 41 per cent for his brilliant mark on Queen's Birthday against Melbourne in round 12.

Howe's teammate Brodie Grundy's effort in round 14 against Port Adelaide had the remaining 7 per cent. 

Daniher rose above former teammate Jake Carlisle in an amazing effort to take the footy about four metres off the ground.

But it was Howe's incredible second lift after launching off Tom McDonald that had been widely expected to take out the award.

A gracious Howe took to Twitter during Monday night's Brownlow count to congratulate Daniher. 

Year of the Tiger?

Gun Richmond forward Daniel Rioli capped a stunning three days by winning the Coates Hire Goal of the Year.

After helping the Tigers into the Grand Final with four goals in Saturday's preliminary final against the Giants, Rioli won 46 per cent of the fan vote, ahead of superstars Eddie Betts (34 per cent) and Lance Franklin (20 per cent). 

The Tiger's outstanding effort came against West Coast in round three, Betts' was in round nine against the Brisbane Lions and Franklin's magnificent running effort came in the season's penultimate round.

Rioli was involved in a couple of contests before snapping it through from the boundary. Franklin thrilled with a run down the wing with Daniel Talia giving a helpless chase, playing the role of Essendon backman Cale Hooker circa 2010, while Betts showed brilliant ball control to confound the Lions.

Hombsch honoured with Stynes Award

The Jim Stynes Community Leadership Award went to Port Adelaide defender Jack Hombsch for his involvement with physical and intellectual disability charities.

Other finalists were former St Kilda captain Nick Riewoldt, Western Bulldogs ruckman Jordan Roughead and AFLW Fremantle midfielder Kirby Bentley.

Want more?