RICHMOND young gun Jack Higgins has won the Coates Hire Goal of the Year, while Sydney star Isaac Heeney has taken out the Woolworths Mark of the Year award.

Higgins claimed top billing for his incredible bicycle kick around the post against Collingwood in round 19.

AS IT HAPPENED Brownlow Medal night

In his acceptance speech, Higgins' loveable larrkin personality shown through before thanking his family, teammates and coaches.

"My heart's pumping a thousand minutes per second, so if I screw it up, don't hate on me," Higgins said.

He was also adamant the correct decision was made to let the goal stand.

"I got there and I saw the goalpost and it wasn't a throw, but I dropped the ball around and kicked the goal," he said.

"It wasn't a throw."

Jack Higgins' incredible goal. Picture: Michael Willson, AFL Photos

Cameron lodged his nomination in round five against Gold Coast with a clever snap after several efforts in the one play.

Parker's goal came in the opening round against West Coast, a remarkable bicycle kick over his head from the top of the goal square.

Heeney was recognised for his brilliant mark in round 21 against Melbourne when he used Demons key forward Jesse Hogan as a step ladder.

Heeney secured top honours ahead of Cameron for his round nine grab against Hawthorn, and Fremantle livewire Michael Walters for his round 20 mark against West Coast.

The All Australian committee used a 5-4-3-2-1 voting system to narrow the nominations from all 23 rounds to the final three in each category.

In a change from last year after the uproar to Collingwood high flyer Jeremy Howe being snubbed in the Mark of the Year award, the 10-member committee then voted on the overall winner, with the fan outcome counting as an 11th vote.

Last year, the fan vote decided both awards.

Higgins and Parker both received $10,000 as their prize.

The 10-person AFL All Australian committee consists of Gillon McLachlan (chairman), Steve Hocking, Kevin Bartlett, Luke Darcy, Danny Frawley, Glen Jakovich, Chris Johnson, Cameron Ling, Matthew Richardson and Warren Tredrea.

Isaac Heeney soars high over Jesse Hogan. Picture: Michael Willson, AFL Photos