Umpire Brett Rosebury at the 2015 Grand Final Umpires Announcement. Picture: AFL Photos

VETERAN umpire Brett Rosebury will not umpire in an AFL final this weekend for just the third time since 2008.

Rosebury has umpired in seven of the past eight Grand Finals (including the 2010 Grand Final Replay) and at least one of the preliminary finals every year since 2006.

However he was not among the nine umpires selected to continue beyond the first week of finals this season.

The AFL selected last year's Grand Final umpire Matt Stevic for Friday night's semi-final between Hawthorn and the Western Bulldogs.

He will umpire alongside Chris Donlon, who umpired the 2011 premiership decider, and dual Grand Final umpire Mathew Nicholls.

Saturday night's clash between the Sydney Swans and Adelaide will be officiated by Simon Meredith, who has umpired in three Grand Finals, and Scott Jeffery and Luke Farmer, who are both yet to feature in the last game of a season.

Jeffery umpired in the first two weeks of finals last season before missing out on the preliminary and Grand Final.

Shaun Ryan, Chris Kamolins and Justin Schmitt remain in the squad of nine training who could potentially officiate in the remaining three finals.

The highly respected Rosebury has umpired 37 AFL finals in his 348 game-career.

Finals week two umpiring appointments

Hawthorn v Western Bulldogs at the MCG
Field Umpires: Chris Donlon, Matt Stevic, Mathew Nicholls, Emergency: Shaun Ryan
Boundary Umpires: Chris Gordon, Damien Cusack, Brett Dalgleish, Michael Saunders
Goal Umpires: David Dixon, Stephen Williams Emergency: Chris Appleton 

Sydney Swans v Adelaide at the SCG
Field Umpires: Luke Farmer, Simon Meredith, Scott Jeffery, Emergency: Justin Schmitt
Boundary Umpires: Matthew Tomkins, Matthew Konetschka, Mark Thomson, Mitchell Lefevre
Goal Umpires: Brodie Kenny-Bell, Adam Wojcik Emergency: Chelsea Roffey