ED PHILLIPS has retained his crown as St Kilda's best runner following a victory in the club's 3km time trial on Tuesday.

Doulton Langlands again finished in second place to Phillips, with top two staying the same after November's time trial. 

PLAY AFL FANTASY Click here to pre-register and receive our early announcements

Jack Sinclair, Josh Battle and Dan Butler rounded out the top five.

Battle dropped from third place in November to fourth this time, but he and Rowan Marshall recorded personal best times. 

Bradley Hill and Seb Ross go stride for stride in St Kilda's time trial. Picture: saints.com.au

Given the midfielders are expected to dominate the running challenges, it's been the athleticism of the big men in the team that has pleased the training staff at Moorabbin. 

"To bring Paddy Ryder in who's a great athlete is a massive positive, we've already got Rowan Marshall who's a terrific runner with endurance and power, along with Max King, Ryan Abbott and Josh Battle," St Kilda's head of high performance Matt Hornsby said. 

"To basically run like midfielders at their size, we're really fortunate that we've got a very athletic group of big guys who will give us a competitive advantage going into 2020." 

After a season marred by injury, St Kilda fans will be pleased that hardly any players are battling injuries. 

Only Dan Hannebery (foot), Nick Coffield (shoulder) and Jimmy Webster (back) are in the modified training group at the moment.

Jack Bytel underwent surgery on a bulging disc in his back in January 2019 and missed all of last season, but he's in full training.

The club has been pleased with his progress, as both he and his housemate Max King look to make their senior debuts in 2020. 

Star recruit Bradley Hill, Jack Steele and Daniel McKenzie all placed in the top 10 of the time trial after sitting out on November's run.

St Kilda's 3km time trial top 10

1. Ed Phillips
2. Doulton Langlands
3. Jack Sinclair
4. Josh Battle
5. Dan Butler
6. Daniel McKenzie
7. Bradley Hill
8. Seb Ross
9. Jack Steele
10. Jack Lonie