HAWTHORN is expected to be based in a hub in the Barossa for the next batch of AFL fixturing.

The Hawks, who lost badly to Fremantle in Perth on Monday night, are to play West Coast in round 12 at Optus Stadium on Sunday before heading to Adelaide for an already announced round 13 game against Port Adelaide.

ROUNDS 11-13 Check out the full fixture

Rounds 14-18 of the 2020 Toyota AFL Premiership Season will be formally released by the AFL later this week, with the Hawks potentially based in South Australia through to round 18, even if they get their wish from the Tasmanian government to play home matches in Launceston.

Round 18 will be a "floating fixture", with venues and times of matches to be confirmed at a later date. 

17:56 Mins
Published on

AAA Ep10: 'Soft' Dogs slammed, the rule that has everyone confused

Matthew Lloyd and Damian Barrett discuss all of the fallout from a huge week of football

Published on

The rounds 14 to 17 fixture is likely to be the same as rounds 9-12, with four rounds of football expected to be compressed into three weeks. Ten teams will be given byes in that period, by which time all 18 clubs will have received a bye. 

THE LADDER Where is your team sitting?

The two Perth teams, West Coast and Fremantle, are expected to head back to south-east Queensland for a chunk of the remainder of the season, meaning 15 of the AFL's 18 clubs will be based in that region.

Top of the ladder Port Adelaide and Adelaide, which is yet to win a game in 2020, are able to stay in their home state, and will be joined by Hawthorn for the last batch of fixturing in this COVID-19 pandemic ravaged season. 

Consideration will be given to scheduling a weekend's break between round 18 and the first week of finals. 

The AFL has also revealed it will play year's 'Heart of the Nation' game at TIO Traeger Park in Alice Springs on Saturday, August 29. The round 14 clash between Melbourne and St Kilda will kick off at 7.10pm local time (7.40pm ACST).

Twitter: @barrettdamian