SIR DOUG Nicholls Round blasts off tonight in Darwin when Gold Coast takes on Carlton from 7.20pm ACST (7.50pm AEST).

MATCH CENTRE Follow it LIVE when the game begins

With finals hopes hanging by a thread, a win is a must for both teams.

Carlton has five wins for the season and sits a game outside the eight, whereas Gold Coast has four wins and a draw.

01:25 Mins
Published on

Match Previews R13: Gold Coast v Carlton

Sportsbet's Nathan Brown and Matthew Richardson preview the blockbuster between the Suns and Blues in Darwin at TIO Stadium

Published on

The Suns last tasted victory back in round seven and they have been unable to get over the line since, despite a series of very close calls. 

THE LADDER Where is your team sitting?

Not only is the game in primetime, Gold Coast has some extra incentive with the match being co-captain David Swallow's 150th.

Carlton has also been involved in a stack of thrilling results, including last round's miracle win over Fremantle thanks to an amazing after-the-siren kick from former Saint Jack Newnes.

09:12 Mins
Published on

The 10 best after-the-siren goals in VFL/AFL history

There has been 44 occasions where a game is won with no time on the clock - who is No.1?

Published on


This game will end the longest break (in games) an AFL player has had between venues, historian Stephen Rodgers informs us.

When Kade Simpson, 36, last played at TIO Stadium (324 games ago), his potential Gold Coast opponents Izak Rankine and Wil Powell were just 5 years old, while Jack Lukosius, Noah Anderson, Ben King, Connor Budarick and Caleb Graham were 4yo, and Sam Flanders was three.

Simpson's most recent game there was in round 13, 2005, against the Bulldogs. In that match, Simpson played his 13th game, and Eddie Betts played his 12th.

324 Kade Simpson (Carl) TIO Stadium, Darwin 2005 - 2020
282 Ben Hart (Adel) Metricon Stadium, Carrara 1992 - 2006
277 Jordan Lewis (Haw, Melb) Kardinia Park 2006 - 2018
275 Justin Madden (Ess, Carl) The Gabba 1981 - 1995
270 Michael Voss (Bris) Metricon Stadium, Carrara 1992 - 2006
257 Eddie Betts (Carl, Adel) TIO Stadium, Darwin 2005 - 2017
256 Stephen Milne (St K) UNSW Canberra Oval, Manuka 2001 - 2013
251 Luke Hodge (Haw, Bris) Kardinia Park 2006 - 2018


01:39 Mins
Published on

Footy touches down in the Top End

Cal Twomey with all the latest news from Darwin

Published on