CARLTON superstar Patrick Cripps and reigning AFL Players' Association Most Valuable Player has sensationally been snubbed by teammates for this year's award.

Cripps was overlooked for the award with the Blues playing group voting for Jack Martin, Sam Walsh and Jacob Weitering instead.

Geelong superstar Patrick Dangerfield missed out on a nomination for the third year running, while another surprising omission was Collingwood captain Scott Pendlebury.

The award sees players choosing three teammates, with the three nominees then presented to the entire AFL player population to vote for a winner. Players cannot vote for their teammates in the second stage.

The winner will be announced next Thursday night. 

The 22under22 team will be announced next Tuesday, along with Most Courageous, Best First Year and Best Captain, which every skipper is automatically nominated for.

Adelaide Crows

MVP: Rory Laird, Reilly O'Brien, Brodie Smith

Most Courageous: Kyle Hartigan

Best First Year: Harry Schoenberg

Captain: Rory Sloane

00:33 Mins
Published on

Long-kicking Crow launches from centre square

Swift ball movement through the middle of the ground by Adelaide and Brodie Smith lets loose with a mighty roost

Published on

Brisbane Lions

MVP: Harris Andrews, Jarryd Lyons, Lachie Neale

Most Courageous: Oscar McInerney

Best First Year: Keidean Coleman

Captain: Dayne Zorko

00:38 Mins
Published on

Is there anything Neale can't do right now?

Early Brownlow Medal favourite Lachie Neale conjures a stunning dribbler from tight on the boundary

Published on


MVP: Jack Martin, Sam Walsh, Jacob Weitering

Most Courageous: Liam Jones

Best First Year: Sam Philp

Captain: Patrick Cripps, Sam Docherty 

01:38 Mins
Published on

Cripps' crazy GOTY contender, simply stunning

Patrick Cripps weaves some absolute genius and produces an effort which will surely go down as a contender for Goal of the Year

Published on


MVP: Taylor Adams, Brayden Maynard, Darcy Moore

Most Courageous: Taylor Adams

Best First Year: Trey Ruscoe

Captain: Scott Pendlebury

00:28 Mins
Published on

Adams puts the finishing touches on a Pies masterclass

Collingwood star Taylor Adams caps off a great day for his side

Published on


MVP: Andrew McGrath, Zach Merrett, Jordan Ridley

Most Courageous: Jordan Ridley

Best First Year: Ned Cahill

Captain: Dyson Heppell

03:03 Mins
Published on

Diligent and determined: The rise of Jordan Ridley

Essendon defender Jordan Ridley's teammates talk about his stellar 2020 season

Published on


MVP: Nathan Fyfe, Luke Ryan, Matthew Taberner

Most Courageous: Ethan Hughes

Best First Year: Caleb Serong

Captain: Nathan Fyfe

00:58 Mins
Published on

Moore leaves Fyfe, loses hairband and his man

Nat Fyfe is left all on his own after his direct opponent Darcy Moore elects to charge at another contest

Published on

Geelong Cats

MVP: Cameron Guthrie, Tom Hawkins, Sam Menegola

Most Courageous: Jack Henry

Best First Year: Brad Close

Captain: Joel Selwood

02:28 Mins
Published on

Coleman contender adds to his bag with a six-goal haul

Geelong star Tom Hawkins leads his side to a big victory over Port Adelaide

Published on

Gold Coast Suns

MVP: Samuel Collins, Touk Miller, Jarrod Witts

Most Courageous: Samuel Collins

Best First Year: Noah Anderson

Captain: David Swallow, Jarrod Witts

00:26 Mins
Published on

It Touk a supernatural tackle to bring the Bont down

Touk Miller uses everything in his power to hang on to Marcus Bontempelli and completes a tremendous tackle

Published on

GWS Giants

MVP: Nick Haynes, Harry Perryman, Lachie Whitfield

Most Courageous: Harry Perryman

Best First Year: Lachlan Ash

Captain: Stephen Coniglio

00:47 Mins
Published on

This is why GWS love a Whitfield delivery

Lachie Whitfield shows off his impressive kicking skills with a peach of a pass to Jeremy Finlayson

Published on


MVP: Sam Frost, Jack Gunston, Ben McEvoy

Most Courageous: Ben McEvoy

Best First Year: Will Day

Captain: Ben Stratton

00:38 Mins
Published on

Jack uses his knack outside the pack

Hawthorn's Jack Gunston is in the perfect spot after the footy spills out of a congested tackle

Published on


MVP: Max Gawn, Steven May, Christian Petracca

Most Courageous: Jack Viney

Best First Year: Luke Jackson

Captain: Max Gawn

00:43 Mins
Published on

Monster roost as 'Trac' launches from downtown

Christian Petracca shows off a prolific right boot to get Melbourne on the board

Published on

North Melbourne

MVP: Todd Goldstein, Luke McDonald, Jy Simpkin

Most Courageous: Jed Anderson

Best First Year: Jack Mahony

Captain: Jack Ziebell

01:04 Mins
Published on

Simpkin scores without even realising it

Jy Simpkin is delighted after finding out his toe-poke was given the all clear by the score review

Published on

MVP: Travis Boak, Darcy Byrne-Jones, Charlie Dixon

Most Courageous: Tom Jonas

Best First Year: Mitchell Georgiades

Captain: Tom Jonas

00:43 Mins
Published on

One hand is all Charlie needs

Charlie Dixon takes a strong mark with one hand and kicks the goal

Published on


MVP: Shai Bolton, Dustin Martin, Nick Vlastuin

Most Courageous: Liam Baker

Best First Year: Thomson Dow

Captain: Trent Cotchin

00:54 Mins
Published on

Dusty bender sends everyone berserk

Dustin Martin conjures an outrageous banana on the boundary to light up the stadium

Published on

St Kilda

MVP: Daniel Butler, Zak Jones, Jack Steele

Most Courageous: Jack Steele

Best First Year: Ryan Byrnes

Captain: Jarryn Geary

00:43 Mins
Published on

Butler serves up soccer special to send Saints fans ballistic

Dan Butler levels the scores with some of his usual trickery in front of goal

Published on

Sydney Swans

MVP: Tom Papley, Luke Parker, Dane Rampe

Most Courageous: Dane Rampe

Best First Year: Dylan Stephens

Captain: Dane Rampe, Luke Parker, Joshua Kennedy

00:30 Mins
Published on

Papley produces another moment of brilliance in standout season

Sydney gets its first goal of the day thanks to Tom Papley, who makes the most of this opportunity

Published on

West Coast Eagles

MVP: Nic Naitanui, Liam Ryan, Bradley Sheppard

Most Courageous: Liam Duggan

Best First Year: Nic Reid

Captain: Luke Shuey

00:44 Mins
Published on

Wow Ryan, you are a genius

Liam Ryan does everything he can to will his side over the line with an insane solo effort to set up a crucial goal

Published on

Western Bulldogs

MVP: Marcus Bontempelli, Caleb Daniel, Jack Macrae

Most Courageous: Hayden Crozier

Best First Year: Cody Weightman

Captain: Marcus Bontempelli

01:31 Mins
Published on

So close: Goal-line drama as McGovern gets hand on Bont's crucial kick

Watch as ARC is called in to check if Marcus Bontempelli's matchwinning goal was touched

Published on