AND THEN there were three. 

With one game remaining in the Toyota AFL Finals Series, only three players are in the running to be crowned the AFL Coaches' Association's player of the finals. 

FIRST BOUNCE What time does the Toyota AFL Grand Final start?

Geelong's Mitch Duncan and Richmond's Dustin Martin are the clear frontrunners after both polled perfect 10s in their teams' respective preliminary final victories. 

00:36 Mins
Published on

Prelim openers don't get much better than this, Dusty

Tigers superstar Dustin Martin conjures an absolutely stunning goal in the wet to kick things off

Published on

If Martin outpolls Duncan by one or more votes in the Grand Final, he will claim a third Gary Ayres Award in four years, stamping himself as one of the great finals players. 

However, Duncan's superstar teammate Patrick Dangerfield is still a chance of claiming a share of the award. If he polls 10 votes in the Grand Final and neither Duncan or Martin score a vote from the coaches, Dangerfield will tie with Duncan at the top of the leaderboard. 


Every round, the AFL coaches vote for the best players from their game. The coaches vote for five players, giving them a mark from 1-5. The maximum a player can score is 10 (with five votes from both coaches).

Finals week three

10 Dustin Martin (RICH)
6 Toby Nankervis (RICH)
4 Dan Houston (PORT)
3 Trent Cotchin (RICH)
3 Kane Lambert (RICH)
2 Tom Jonas (PORT)
2 Shai Bolton (RICH)

10 Mitch Duncan (GEEL)
4 Brandan Parfitt (GEEL)
4 Lachie Neale (BL)
3 Sam Menegola (GEEL)
3 Jake Kolodjashnij (GEEL)
2 Jack Henry (GEEL)
2 Joel Selwood (GEEL)
1 Ryan Lester (BL)
1 Lincoln McCarthy (BL)

Gary Ayres Award leaderboard

19 Mitch Duncan (GEEL)
18 Dustin Martin (RICH)
10 Nic Naitanui (WCE)
10 Daniel Rich (BL)
9 Patrick Dangerfield (GEEL)
9 Paddy Ryder (STK)
9 Ollie Wines (PORT)
7 Caleb Daniel (WB)
7 Dougal Howard (STK)
7 Toby Nankervis (RICH)

* Players in bold can still win the Gary Ayres Award