THE YOUNG Brisbane Lions squad set to take on Hawthorn on Thursday night at Etihad Stadium has lost even more experience with vice-captain Tom Rockliff a late omission.
Rockliff, 23, was one of three players cut from the team when the squad was trimmed from 29 an hour-and-a-half before the bounce.
Joining him as late omissions are rookies Isaac Conway and Archie Smith.
The Lions have just two players – Matt Maguire and Andrew Raines – in their squad who have played more than 100 games.
In what will be new coach Justin Leppitsch's first game in charge, the Lions will start with recent draftee Tom Cutler and Lions' academy graduate Jonathan Freeman as their substitutes.
Both teams can reset their substitutes at half-time.
Meanwhile, the Hawks have left Sam Grimley, Luke Lowden and rookie Ben Ross out of their final squad.
They will start with ruckman Jonathon Ceglar and their first draft selection from last year Billy Hartung as their substitutes.
Category B rookie Kurt Heatherley will play his first game after coming through the Hawks' New Zealand scholarship program.
Matt Suckling and Alex Woodward will return from knee reconstructions in the game set to start at 7.10pm AEDT.


• Subscribe to watch every kick LIVE on your phone or tablet via the AFL LIVE Official App. Weekly passes available from $5.49
• Catch the match replay 12 hours after the siren on 
• Watching overseas? Click here to pick up your free NAB Challenge pass 

Thursday, February 13
Etihad Stadium, 7.10pm AEDT

Click here for our LIVE coverage

Omitted from provisional squad: Ben Ross, Luke Lowden, Sam Grimley

Final team
Jarryd Roughead, 3. Jordan Lewis, 4. Matt Suckling, 5. Sam Mitchell, 7. Ben McEvoy, 8. Taylor Duryea, 9. Shaun Burgoyne, 10. Bradley Hill, 13. Kyle Cheney, 16. Isaac Smith, 18. Jonathon Ceglar, 19. Jack Gunston, 20. David Hale, 22. Luke Breust, 23. Tim O'Brien, 26. Liam Shiels, 28. Paul Puopolo, 29. Will Langford, 31. Angus Litherland, 32 Jonathan Simpkin, 33. Cyril Rioli, 36. Derick Wanganeen, 38. Mitch Hallahan, 39. Alex Woodward, 40. Billy Hartung, 46. Kurt Heatherley

Jonathon Ceglar, Billy Hartung

Omitted from provisional squad: Tom Rockliff, Isaac Conway, Archie Smith

Final team
2. Ryan Harwood, 4. James Aish, 5. Jack Crisp, 6. Josh Green, 8. Rohan Bewick, 13. Trent West, 15. Dayne Zorko, 18. Nicholas Robertson, 19. Jordan Lisle, 22. Marco Paparone, 25. Daniel McStay, 26. Tom Cutler, 29.  Andrew Raines, 31. James Polkinghorne, 32. Sam Mayes, 33. Michael Close, 34. Jonathan Freeman, 35. Ryan Lester, 36. Matt Maguire, 37. Patrick Wearden, 41. Mitch Golby, 42. Justin Clarke, 43. Nicholas Hayes, 45. Jordon Bourke, 46. Sam Michael, 47. Zachary O'Brien

Tom Cutler, Jonathan Freeman