REAPPOINTED Hawthorn captain Jarryd Roughead will head a trimmed-down leadership group in 2018 after the Hawks decided against replacing departed veterans Luke Hodge and Josh Gibson. 

Returning to the team last season after a cancer battle, Roughead took the reins from legendary three-time premiership skipper Hodge and led the Hawks in all 22 games. 

Hawthorn's transitioning outfit missed finals for the first time since 2009 but showed signs of progress late in the campaign, and Roughead is excited by the year ahead. 

"2017 provided some really good learnings for me and I feel like I’ve continued to develop and grow into the role," Roughead said. 

"Captaining the Hawks is a real honour and to be backed in by your teammates for another year is extra special. 

"There is a really good feeling amongst the group and we are looking forward to what’s to come in season 2018." 

Roughead will again be supported by dual vice-captains Isaac Smith and Liam Shiels, while Jack Gunston and Ben Stratton have also been retained in the leadership group after a player vote.