THE AFL wishes to advise Camp 2 of the 2019 AFL Rio Tinto Footy Means Business program will be held in Melbourne next week from May 21-25.

Currently in its ninth year, the 2019 AFL Rio Tinto Footy Means Business program brings together a squad of 50 Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander men, aged 18 to 24 years, from across the country to participate in the five-day camp.

Following on from the program's first camp held in Perth earlier this year, participants will take part in a number of skill development and cultural awareness activities, plus they will also get a better understanding of what elite AFL football involves with visits to the Essendon and Richmond Football Clubs.

As part of the 2019 Sir Doug Nicholls Round celebrations, the Rio Tinto Footy Means Business participants will showcase their skills at the MCG in a curtain raiser match to the annual Dreamtime at the G clash between Richmond and Essendon.

Participants will be divided into two teams – the Palya Squad (Yellow) and Kunpu Squad (Red) – which will be led by former Western Bulldogs player Brett Goodes and local West Australian footballer Shayne Taylor as their respective head coaches.

AFL General Manager Game Development, Andrew Dillon, said Camp 2 of the Rio Tinto Footy Means Business program would highlight the next generation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander talent to the wider AFL industry.

"The Sir Doug Nicholls Round is a wonderful occasion to celebrate the contribution Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities have made to our game, so it's fantastic to have the next generation of players from the Rio Tinto program part of the Dreamtime at the G match," he said. 

"To have an opportunity to visit elite AFL Clubs, create new friendships and develop skills both on and off the field will hold these players in good stead to become future leaders both in our game and in their local communities.

"The Footy Means Business Program has become a real standout program for young men and we thank Rio Tinto for their continued support of all our Indigenous programs."

Rio Tinto group executive Health, Safety, Environment and managing director Australia Joanne Farrell said, "Rio Tinto is a proud partner of the AFL, with our shared commitment to Indigenous people and communities right around Australia.

"The AFL Sir Doug Nicholls Round is such an important reconciliation initiative, bringing people together and celebrating Australia’s rich Indigenous heritage on the biggest sporting stage in the country."

A LIVE stream of the curtain-raiser match will be available on 7plus, and the official AFL App from 4pm EST, while fans can watch the replay on 7Mate (check your local guides for times). 

To be selected for the AFL Rio Tinto Footy Means Business Program, candidates must be:

* Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander

* Not engaged in AFL or Second Tier competition

* Employed (part time or apprenticeship), undertaking education/training or be involved in community programs

* Aspirational and display leadership qualities

Rio Tinto is one of the largest private sector employers of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander men and women in Australia. Rio Tinto is the principal partner of all AFL Indigenous Programs and now in its ninth year of involvement in the leadership development program, Footy Means Business.

2019 AFL Rio Tinto Footy Means Business Squad


Head Coach: Brett Goodes

Assistant Coach: John Boxer

NT: Justin Talal, Kelly Dijana, Marcus McDonald, Benson Wunungmurra

QLD: Clinton Sullivan, Thuraka Sammons, Tui Lowah

SA: Kailen Kelly, Michael Burgoyne

TAS: Bailey Grey, Harrison McIvor

VIC: Jai Nadjamerrek, Jy Lambley, Joshua Chatfield, Sanipepea Egan, Kyle Thomas

WA: Dennis O'Dene, Tyson McEwan, Aneaus Brierly, Israel Cedar


Head Coach: Shayne Taylor

Assistant Coach:  Steven Raymond 

NT: Jayden Wurrikgidj, Angelo Lungguy

QLD: Fitzroy Greenwool, William Levi-Gobbey

SA: Michael Drover, Adrian Peel, Jamahl Weetra, Leon Kenny

TAS: Jesse Shepheard

VIC: Kyle Lambley, Billyjack Smith, Yemurraki Egan, Peter Clarke, Darren  Allen

WA: Dylan Corbett, Jaymie Harris, Len Papertalk, Paul Ryan, Dylan Hansen