POSSIBLE No.1 draft pick Jacob Weitering leads a group of eight Dandenong Stingrays selected to test at this year's NAB AFL Draft Combine.

The AFL has released a list of 76 players who have been picked to attend the four-day testing at Etihad Stadium in October, with four more players to be added in the next two weeks.

It is down from the 100 or so prospects who have been invited in recent years.

The Stingrays, who are favourites to take out the TAC Cup premiership this year, will account for 10 per cent of the combine pool, with key defender Weitering, tall backman Kieran Collins and father-son prospect Bailey Rice among the group.

Vic Country, who went through the recent under-18 championships unbeaten, dominated the combine invitations with 22 players selected.  

Their group included three players – Ben McKay, Thomas Jok and Clayton Oliver – who didn't feature in the carnival, as well as injured speedster Aidyn Johnson.

McKay is the identical twin brother of Harry McKay, with both Gippsland Power players standing at 200cm.

Ben started the season playing at local level but has recently caught the eye of club recruiters in the TAC Cup, including a game this month where he took five contested marks. He looks set to be this year's draft bolter, with his brother considered a likely first-round pick.

The combine list was selected by the AFL clubs, which each had to nominate 50 prospects they wanted to see attend.

Players needed five nominations to be included, with clubs to now provide nominations for state combines around the country. 

NSW/ACT's Callum Mills is among the combine invitees. Picture: AFL Media

Vic Metro had 19 players nominated, 12 South Australians will attend and just seven players have been invited from Western Australia after that state's poor carnival.

NSW-ACT led the way for the division two teams with seven players picked, and Queensland had five players picked, all of whom are tied to the Brisbane Lions academy. The Northern Territory and Tasmania each had two prospects nominated.

While the draft is not seen as one of the strongest in recent years, recruiters have not turned to the state leagues for options, with no mature-age player nominated. Only three ruckman have been picked.

This year's draft combine will again run the week after the Grand Final, but the opening day has been shifted from Tuesday to Thursday, October 8, with the combine to conclude on Sunday, October 11.

"Consideration has been given to the fact a number of the attendees will be at school, therefore it will commence on the Thursday afternoon," AFL national talent football manager Michael Ablett said.

"With that in mind, it means they'll miss one day of school. There will also be a little bit of a crossover on the Sunday with the national combine and the Victorian state combine which will be held on the same day."


South Australia
Matthew Allen - Glenelg
Riley Bonner - West Adelaide
Ryan Burton - North Adelaide
Aaron Francis - West Adelaide
Cameron Hewett - North Adelaide
Oleg Markov - North Adelaide
Wayne Milera - Central Districts
Andre Parrella - Sturt
Luke Partington - Norwood
Mason Redman - Glenelg
Will Snelling - West Adelaide
Stephen Tahana - North Adelaide

Vic Country
Tom Cole - Bendigo Pioneers
Kieran Collins - Dandenong Stingrays
Charlie Curnow - Geelong Falcons
Tom Doedee - Geelong Falcons
Josh Dunkley - Gippsland Power
Thomas Glen - Dandenong Stingrays
Nash Holmes - Gippsland Power
Aidyn Johnson - Bendigo Pioneers
Thomas Jok - Dandenong Stingrays
Rhys Mathieson - Geelong Falcons
Ben McKay - Gippsland Power
Harry McKay - Gippsland Power
Kurt Mutimer - Dandenong Stingrays
Gach Nyuon - Dandenong Stingrays
Clayton Oliver - Murray Bushrangers
Darcy Parish - Geelong Falcons
Bailey Rice - Dandenong Stingrays
Josh Schache - Murray Bushrangers
Sam Skinner - Gippsland Power
Darcy Tucker - North Ballarat Rebels
Jacob Weitering - Dandenong Stingrays
Brandon White - Dandenong Stingrays

Vic Metro
Harley Balic - Sandringham Dragons
Ryan Clarke - Eastern Ranges
Ben Crocker - Oakleigh Chargers
David Cuningham - Oakleigh Chargers
Brayden Fiorini - Northern Knights
Jack Firns - Oakleigh Chargers
Jade Gresham - Northern Knights
Blake Hardwick - Eastern Ranges
Daniel Houston - Oakleigh Chargers
Liam Jeffs - Eastern Ranges
Hisham Kerbatieh - Calder Cannons
Tyrone Leonardis - Northern Knights
Darcy MacPherson - Northern Knights
Callum Moore - Calder Cannons
Alex Morgan - Oakleigh Chargers
Nick O'Kearney - Calder Cannons
James Parsons - Eastern Ranges
Jack Silvagni - Oakleigh Chargers
Sam Weideman - Eastern Ranges

Western Australia
Callum Ah Chee - South Fremantle
Greg Clark - Subiaco
Jesse Glass-McCasker - Swan Districts
Brayden Hackett - Swan Districts
Declan Mountford - Claremont
Joshua Schoenfeld - Peel Thunder
Dylan Smith - Swan Districts

Jock Cornell - Mangoplah CUE
Matthew Flynn - Narrandera
Harrison Himmelberg - Eastlake/Mangoplah CUE
Jacob Hopper - Leeton-Whitton/North Ballarat Rebels
Matthew Kennedy - Collingulli-GP
Callum Mills - North Shore
Lachlan Tiziani - Albury/Murray Bushrangers

Northern Territory
Davin Ferriera - Wanderers/Norwood
Daniel Rioli - St Marys/North Ballarat Rebels

Mabior Chol - Yeronga
Eric Hipwood - Aspley
Ben Keays - Redlands/Morningside
Corey Wagner - Aspley
Reuben William - Wilston Grange/Zillmere

Mitchell Hibberd - Clarence
Kieran Lovell - Kingston Tigers