COACHES Alastair Clarkson, Chris Fagan and Luke Beveridge will be reunited on the subcommittee guiding the future of the talent pathways in the wake of COVID-19. understands Clarkson, who has led the Hawks to four flags, will be joined by Beveridge, his former understudy, and Fagan, the club's ex-football manager, on the six-person panel.

LATEST NEWS All your COVID-19 updates here

Beveridge was an assistant coach with the Hawks before leading the Western Bulldogs to their drought-breaking 2016 premiership. 

00:00 Mins
Published on

Gracious Clarko gives Bevo a hug

Defeated Hawks coach Alastair Clarkson embraces victorious Dogs coach Luke Beveridge post-match

Published on

Fagan was a long-term football boss at the Hawks before taking on the Brisbane senior coaching role ahead of the 2017 season. Together the trio had been central to Hawthorn's dominance in their premiership era. 

Brisbane chief executive Greg Swann, the AFL's legal counsel Andrew Dillon, and its head of talent Tristan Salter will also be on the panel focusing on the talent 'stream'.

FIRST CLASS Your club's best first-round draftees this century

Experienced club list managers and recruiters are likely to be canvassed for their views. 

Clubs believe significant change is likely within the under-18 system and talent pathway, with discussions likely to centre on models for the annual national carnival and junior competitions, development hubs and the future of Next Generation Academies and northern Academies.  

Beveridge has been a vocal advocate of lifting the draft age to 19, although AFL boss Gill McLachlan all but ruled that out last week. 

The AFL has set up a number of different focus groups to help it combat the impact of the coronavirus on the game.

Swan and Western Bulldogs chief executive are leading the football department discussions among clubs, and Carlton's Cain Liddle and Richmond's Brendon Gale are at the front of the membership conversations.

FUTURE PICK ANXIETY Why clubs are worried about draft investment

Essendon boss Xavier Campbell is heading the finance sub-committee.