A GREATER Western Sydney team will play five matches in the VFL Women's competition in 2019.

The invitational matches won't count for points or ladder position, with the Giants drawn to play teams that would otherwise have byes.

The team will play Williamstown (May 11), Richmond (May 18), Melbourne University (June 23), Essendon (July 13) and Collingwood (August 11). 

The Giants' AFLW senior assistant coach Roger Moten will lead the team, with all games to be played in Victoria. 

INS AND OUTS Your club's full list for 2019

"Entering a team in the VFLW competition provides a great opportunity to continue to grow our AFLW program," the club's chief operating officer James Avery said. 

"It allows us to maintain parity with eight of the other AFLW clubs by ensuring our players can train and play together during the AFLW off-season. 

"It also allows our players to remain in NSW and the ACT during the winter months as they continue their development." 

DRAFT WRAP Who did your club pick?

The VFLW will once again be a 13-team competition featuring Carlton, Casey Demons, Collingwood, Darebin Falcons, Essendon, Geelong, Hawthorn, Melbourne University, Northern Territory Thunder, Richmond, Southern Saints, Western Bulldogs and Williamstown. The finals series will be expanded to six teams competing over four weeks. 

The Grand Final will be broadcast on Channel Seven before the VFL Grand Final, as was the case in 2017 but not in 2018 when it was streamed online.