FOUR-time Ross Glendinning medallist Paul Hasleby is "extremely disappointed" the best player in each Western Derby will no longer receive the accolade.

The medal has been scrapped in an end to a 17-season tradition, while the trophy will no longer be presented to the winning team because of changes to brewer CUB's sponsorship deal.

Ex-Fremantle star Hasleby, the all-time Ross Glendinning Medal leader, was shocked that an element of derby history has been ditched ahead of the first clash between the Dockers and West Coast at Optus Stadium.

"I'm extremely disappointed and I can't understand why they wouldn't go forward presenting the Ross Glendinning Medal at least, given it's been a big part of the history of the two teams," Hasleby told  

"With or without a sponsor you don't require it to go forward, you can always find who the best player has been on the ground, so my initial reaction is I'm extremely disappointed." 

While having 1983 Brownlow medallist Glendinning's name on the medal has been contentious given his strong ties to West Coast, former Dockers star Hasleby believed it has become part of derby folklore. 

"It's a massive tradition," Hasleby said.  

"In terms of Ross Glendinning, he's a WA legend, he spent time at the West Coast Eagles, obviously he was their first skipper, but he was also down there at Fremantle (as chairman of selectors) while I was playing in the early 2000s.  

"I think he was the right man (to name the medal after) and it has built up a place in Western Australian history, and for me, individually, I get referred to as the four-time Ross Glendinning Medal winner on a number of occasions throughout the week. 

"So it holds a special place in my heart."

Fremantle CEO Steve Rosich hoped the WA clubs could find a new derby sponsor so that the trophy will again be awarded, but made no mention of a new medal. 

"We will continue to work with West Coast to investigate a joint sponsor for the derby and the possibility of that sponsor taking up the trophy rights for the derby in the future," Rosich said in a statement.

"We appreciate the ongoing and valuable support of CUB as sponsors of our club and football in this state."

While the medal is no longer up for grabs for both teams, the Eagles will present the award to their best player in the changerooms post-match.

"It's Freo's prerogative now that CUB aren't the gameday sponsor that they can do what they want," coach Adam Simpson told Channel Seven.

"It's a little bit disappointing from our end with Ross with his heritage and the WA footballer legend status he carries.

"We'll still have a medal, it will just be to a West Coast player now."

West Coast premiership player Drew Banfield became the first Glendinning medallist in round four, 2001 after picking up 30 touches and booting three goals in a 24-point victory.

Since then, some of the biggest WA footy stars have gone on to etch their names in Derby folklore. 

Hasleby always rose to the occasion against Freo's crosstown rivals, while Chris Judd, Matthew Pavlich and Michael Barlow each won the award on three occasions.

Judd was controversially booed by Freo fans when he was awarded his third-consecutive medal in a losing team in round six, 2006.

The greatest uproar came when Ross Glendinning overruled selectors and awarded Michael Gardiner best-on-ground ahead of Ashley Sampi in round five, 2003. 

There was one tie, when Barlow and David Mundy shared the medal in round one, 2013.

Ironically, with Barlow and Mundy awarded the medal together, Fremantle finishes ahead of the Eagles in the overall Ross Glendinning Medal tally 18-17.

Current Eagles skipper Shannon Hurn will be remembered as the last medallist after collecting 34 touches and taking 14 marks in round 17 last year.