Main content

AFL International Cup

About the 2017 AFL International Cup

Melbourne, Australia
Saturday August 5 to Saturday August 19 2017

The 2017 International Cup will be played in Melbourne from August 5 to 19. The 2014 International Cup consisted of 18 men’s and 7 women’s teams

The AFL has announced the 2017 AFL International Cup (IC17) will be held in Melbourne, from August 5-19.

It will be the sixth International Cup and will include both men’s and women’s competitions.

The AFL's head of community and international development Grant Williams said he expects the 2017 carnival to be the biggest yet.

"The popularity of Australian football overseas continues to grow with more players and fans taking up and supporting our game," he said.

"Following the success of the AFL International Cup in 2014, we will again conduct a round of matches in IC17 at suburban and country grounds to give participants an authentic Australian Football experience."

"We look forward to welcoming players from North America, Europe, Africa, the Middle East, Asia and the Pacific."

The AFL International Cup is played every three years. No expatriate Australians are eligible to play. Teams comprise solely of amateurs who must be nationals of the country they represent.

In 2014 there were 25 teams (18 men's and seven women's) representing 18 nations. Papua New Guinea won the men's event, while Canada was victorious in the women's.


The following countries will participate in the 2017 AFL International Cup.

Canada, Fiji, France, Great Britain, Ireland, Nauru, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, South Africa, USA

Pool A: China, Croatia, Indonesia, Sri Lanka. Pool B: Germany, India, Japan, Pakistan

Pool A: Canada, Fiji, Great Britain, Pakistan. Pool B: European Crusaders, Ireland, Papua New Guinea, USA

View IC17 Country Profiles & Team Lists >
View IC17 Fixture & Results >
International Cup History
Year Competition Champions
2002 Beginning of the International Cup concept when 11 teams competed. Men's: Ireland
2005 10 teams compete, introduction of a 'community round' with games played in Wangaratta. Men's: New Zealand
2008 16 teams compete and 3 multicultural teams. Men's: Papua New Guinea
2011 23 teams compete (18 men's teams across 2 divisions and 5 women’s teams).  Matches were played in both Sydney & Melbourne. Find out more.

Men's Division 1: Ireland
Women's: Ireland
Men's Division 2: Fiji

2014 25 teams compete (18 men’s teams and 7 women’s teams).

Men's: Papua New Guinea
Women's: Canada

2017 26 teams compete (18 men’s teams and 8 women’s teams).

Men's Division: Papua New Guinea
Women's: Ireland
Men's Division 2: Croatia