Main content

Hogan romps in: Big Demon wins 2015 NAB AFL Rising Star award

Hogan wins Rising Star Nat Edwards with all the news from the 2015 NAB AFL Rising Star award
No one has done what Jesse's done ... I'm pleased he's won it
Paul Roos, on Jesse Hogan

• Know your Rising Stars? Take the quiz at the NAB AFL Rising Star hub

MELBOURNE'S Jesse Hogan has become the first key forward since Nick Riewoldt in 2002 to be crowned the NAB AFL Rising Star.

The 20-year-old clinched the prestigious Ron Evans Medal at a gala function at Crown Palladium on Wednesday.

He polled 49 out of a possible 50 votes to win from Carlton's Patrick Cripps, who scored 41 votes.

West Coast's Dom Sheed was third, making it a 1-2-3 result for West Australian-raised players.

2015 NAB AFL Rising Star

Jesse Hogan MELB 49
Patrick Cripps CARL 41
Dom Sheed WCE 27
Isaac Heeney SYD 12
Angus Brayshaw MELB 8
Touk Miller GC 6
Adam Saad GC 3
Jake Lever ADEL 2
Jordan De Goey COLL 1
Jackson Thurlow GEEL 1

Swan Isaac Heeney was fourth, with Demon Angus Brayshaw rounding out the top five.

• Jesse Hogan's Rising Star win as it happened

After his 2014 campaign was wiped out by a frustrating back injury, Hogan delivered on the fever-pitch hype by booting 44 majors in his debut season.

The Demons' spearhead relished the competitive one-on-one battles and ranked third in the League for contested marks and eighth for marks inside 50.

"Obviously, you don't want to base yourself (on) individual awards, but I didn't have a great run last year with injury," Hogan said.

"This year, I didn't set myself high expectations but, to be honoured by some of the names up there (in winning the award), it was a pretty good feeling."

2015 NAB AFL Rising Star winner Jesse Hogan and family. Picture: AFL Media

Hogan added his back injury had been a huge experience.

"You're not invincible - most 20-year-olds have never had a serious injury like I had," he said.

"You see these older players with injury and you think 'nup, I'm fine - I will be OK."

Demons coach Paul Roos said Hogan had been outstanding, and noted few key forwards so young had been so dominant in their debut season.

"No one has done what Jesse's done ... I'm pleased he's won it," Roos said.


Hogan was held goalless only once in his 20 appearances this season, despite regularly contending with the best defenders in the AFL.

Jesse Hogan and Patrick Cripps share a laugh before the ceremony. Picture: AFL Media

Hogan's 44-goal return was especially impressive given the Demons were among the lowest-scoring teams and had the third fewest inside 50s this season.

The 195cm Claremont product made the most of his opportunities, with his goalkicking accuracy (62 per cent) better than any of the top 10 players in the Coleman Medal race.


He bagged his first five-goal haul in a loss to St Kilda in his 10th career match and booted more goals in his first full season than some of the greatest modern-day forwards, including Wayne Carey (38), Jonathan Brown (38) and Riewoldt (21).

Hogan, who was secured by the Demons with pick No.2 in the 2012 mini-draft, was nominated for the Rising Star in round nine after slotting two goals against Port Adelaide in Alice Springs.

He is Melbourne's second Rising Star winner, following in the footsteps of key defender Jared Rivers (2004).

In addition to the Ron Evans Medal, Hogan takes home a $20,000 investment portfolio from sponsor NAB. 

• 23 years of Rising Star winners in pictures

NAB AFL Rising Star winners: 1993-present

YearPlayerClubVotesRecruited from
2015 Jesse Hogan MELB 49 Claremont (WA)
2014 Lewis Taylor BL 39 Terang-Mortlake (VIC)
2013 Jaeger O'Meara GCFC 44 Perth (WA)
2012 Daniel Talia ADEL 43 Calder Cannons (VIC)
2011 Dyson Heppell ESS 44 Gippsland Power (VIC)
2010 Daniel Hannebery SYD 45 Kew (VIC)
2009 Daniel Rich BL 45 Subiaco (WA)
2008 Rhys Palmer FRE 44 East Fremantle (WA)
2007 Joel Selwood GEEL 44 Bendigo U18
2006 Danyle Pearce PORT 43 Sturt (SA)
2005 Brett Deledio RICH 43 Kyabram/ Murray U18
2004 Jared Rivers MELB 45 North Adelaide (SA)
2003 Sam Mitchell HAW 33 Mooroolbark/ Eastern U18
2002 Nick Riewoldt STK 34 Southport (Qld)
2001 Justin Koschitzke STK 31 Albury (NSW)/ Murray U18
2000 Paul Hasleby FRE 33 East Fremantle (WA)
1999 Adam Goodes SYD 33 Horsham/ North Ballarat U18
1998 Byron Pickett NMFC 30 Port Adelaide (SANFL)
1997 Michael Wilson PORT 27 Port Adelaide (SANFL)
1996 Ben Cousins WCE  - East Fremantle (WA)
1995 Nick Holland HAW  - North Adelaide (SA)
1994 Chris Scott BL  - Eastern U18
1993 Nathan Buckley BL  - Port Adelaide (SANFL)