FREMANTLE ruckman Aaron Sandilands has created a massive boilover in Fremantle's best and fairest, becoming the oldest winner of the Doig Medal on Saturday night.
Sandilands, 32, won his second Doig Medal in a thrilling count by just five votes from midfielder David Mundy.
Brownlow medallist and AFL Players' Association MVP Nat Fyfe finished fourth with Stephen Hill claiming third for the second straight season.
The Dockers' voting system made it difficult for Fyfe to claim his third straight medal. Five coaches give each player a vote from zero to five for each game, meaning the maximum votes a player can tally in each game is 25.
Fyfe led the count after round 17 by 45 votes, with Sandilands sitting fourth behind Mundy and Lachie Neale. But Fyfe missed four of the last six games through injury, and played the preliminary final with a broken leg.  
Mundy led Sandilands by five votes at the end of the home and away season but the ruckman polled better in the two finals to win the medal.
"I'm in a bit of shock, to be honest," Sandilands said.
"We've had so many players who have had such great years.
"Fyfey obviously won the Brownlow and David Mundy has had a stellar year and I thought those two would fight it out."
Sandilands surpassed previous oldest winner, Adrian Fletcher. He also joined Fyfe, Matthew Pavlich and Peter Bell as a multiple winner of the award having claimed his first best and fairest in 2009.
Remarkably, Sandilands was the only player in the top four of the Dockers' best and fairest not to be selected in the All Australian 40-man squad. Fyfe and Mundy were both named as All Australians while Hill received a nomination.
Two other Dockers received All Australian nominations. Lachie Neale finished sixth in the Doig Medal count while Garrick Ibbotson did not finish in the top 10.
Sandilands was not concerned about not receiving an All Australian nomination despite averaging a career-high 43 hit-outs per game this season.
"I think Todd Goldstein has been the standout ruckman all year," Sandilands said.
"He's been so consistent and he well deserves the All Australian selection. It's all about team success for me and that's what motivates and drives me."
Sandilands said his body feels as good as it ever has and he doesn't require any off-season surgery. He even joked that he might get his manager Colin Young to renegotiate his one-year contract for next year.
Fyfe did leave empty handed. He received the Players' Award, which is voted on after each game by the playing group. Michael Walters was named Player of the Finals after collecting 21 touches and kicking three goals in both finals.
Young key defender Alex Pearce claimed the Beacon Award as the best first or second-year player after impressing in 13 games this season following his debut. Ruckman Jon Griffin was named Best Clubman.
Doig Medal top 10
1. Aaron Sandilands – 282
2. David Mundy – 277
3. Stephen Hill – 261
4. Nathan Fyfe – 260
5. Michael Walters – 244
6. Lachie Neale – 239
7. Lee Spurr – 223
8. Danyle Pearce – 217
9. Chris Mayne – 202
10. Luke McPharlin – 198
Other Awards
Players' Award – Nat Fyfe
Beacon Award (best first or second-year player) – Alex Pearce
Best Clubman Award  – Jon Griffin
Player of the Finals Award – Michael Walters