A SMALL club in central Queensland made history on Saturday, rewriting the record books for the most consecutive wins in the game's history. 

The Yeppoon Swans claimed a historic 89th straight victory when they hosted the BITS (Boyne Island-Tannum Sands) Saints in the AFL Capricornia Grand Final at Swan Park.

The Swans took out the premiership decider with a 61-point thumping of the Saints, winning 10.10 (70) to 1.3 (9).

The previous record stood for 44 years, with former Adelaide Hills team Heathfield-Aldgate United winning 88 consecutive games between 1971 and 1976.

The Swans equaled the record with a thumping 132-point victory against the Glenmore Bulls in last weekend’s preliminary final.

The Swans haven’t lost an A-grade game since 2015 and claimed their sixth-straight premiership in the club’s 40th year.

Coach Mark Wallin is in his seventh season at the helm while his son Matt is the A-Grade captain.

Yeppoon is a coastal town with a population of approximately 18,000 people, located about 650km north of Brisbane.

AFL Capricornia is a six-club competition comprising Yeppoon, three teams from Rockhampton and one each from Gladstone and Boyne Island-Tannum Sands.