RETIRED Fremantle champion Matthew Pavlich has been re-elected as president of the AFL Players' Association, with superstar Patrick Dangerfield emerging as his likely successor.

Pavlich was re-elected unopposed on Wednesday night, while Dangerfield was elevated to vice president in place of former Western Bulldogs ruckman Will Minson.

Digital strategy consultant and former sports lawyer Andrew Twaits has also joined the board, filling the role of independent chairperson in meetings.

Pavlich, who has moved into a media role on broadcaster Fox Footy, said he remained committed to serving the players as their elected representative.

"It's a crucial time for all AFL players with CBA (collective bargain agreement) negotiations ongoing, and I'm looking forward to working with Patrick, Andrew and the rest of the board to represent the interests of players," Pavlich said.

"Our membership is as united as we've ever been and with the addition of more than 200 female members, the Players' Association has never been stronger."

Dangerfield has been a board member for the past three years and become a more prominent public voice for the players during the ongoing CBA talks.

He said stepping into the vice president role to support Pavlich was the "next step in my development".

"We've assembled a high calibre board and I’m confident we’ll achieve some great outcomes for players," Dangerfield said.

St Kilda veteran Leigh Montagna, Adelaide star Rory Sloane and CEO Paul Marsh remain on the AFLPA board, with Scott Pendlebury, Daisy Pearce, Easton Wood, Phil Davis and Sam Docherty recently added.