Brisbane's AFLW leadership group (back L-R) Cathy Svarc, Ally Anderson (front L-R) Belle Dawes, Bre Koenen, Nat Grider, Sophie Conway. Picture: Brisbane Lions FC

AT LEAST four AFLW clubs have or are set to appoint new captains for the 2024 NAB AFLW season.

Fremantle and Port Adelaide have confirmed Ange Stannett and Janelle Cuthbertson will lead their respective teams, while Adelaide (Chelsea Randall) and Greater Western Sydney (Alicia Eva) are yet to confirm replacements for their skippers who have stood down.

Read on to find out who's in the leadership group for your club in 2024.

This article will be updated as clubs announce their leadership groups.

Chelsea Randall has announced she will step down as captain, with a new leadership group yet to be appointed.

The reigning premier will take an unchanged leadership group into the 2024 season.

Breanna Koenen will captain Brisbane for a fourth season, first taking the reins in season six of 2022, with defender Nat Grider serving as vice-captain for a third time.

Belle Dawes, Cathy Svarc, Ally Anderson and Sophie Conway form the leadership group, the latter three players having held roles since 2022.




Fremantle players and coaches have appointed best-and-fairest Ange Stannett as captain this year, despite the former vice-captain being ruled out for the season with a torn ACL.

Previous skipper Hayley Miller will serve as one of three vice-captains (one on each line), alongside forward Aine Tighe and defender Laura Pugh.

Emma O'Driscoll and recruit Ash Brazill round out the leadership group, with Gabby O'Sullivan removing herself from contention after six seasons.



Alicia Eva has announced she will step down as captain, with a new leadership group yet to be appointed.


The Demons are unchanged at the top, with Kate Hore and Tyla Hanks continuing in their roles for a second year as captain and vice-captain respectively.

Inaugural player Sarah Lampard is back in the leadership group after holding a role in 2019, while Paxy Paxman returns to an official leadership role, having vice-captained the club between 2020 and season six of 2022.

Of last year's leadership group, Libby Birch has moved to North Melbourne, while 36-year-old Rhiannon Watt has been named alongside Lily Mithen, Lauren Pearce and Tayla Harris as a supporting quartet.


Key defender Janelle Cuthbertson has been handed the reins after the retirement of inaugural skipper Erin Phillips.

The veteran was vice-captain last year, and served in former club Fremantle's leadership group the season prior.

Justine Mules-Robinson has been appointed vice-captain, with support from Ange Foley and new face Ash Saint. The forward takes the spot of usual leadership group member Hannah Dunn, who will miss the season due to pregnancy.


Long-term skipper Hannah Priest will captain the Saints for a fourth season outright (and fifth overall), with Bianca Jakobsson serving as her vice-captain for the third time.

But the Saints have overhauled their leadership group, ushering in fresh faces Georgia Patrikios (23 years old), Serene Watson (22) and Tyanna Smith (21).

The club said Nicola Stevens and Steph Chiocci will remain as senior leaders, but not in an official capacity.

Nat Plane, Molly McDonald and Hannah Stuart also make way from last year's leadership group.


Inaugural West Coast skipper Emma Swanson will continue to captain the club for a sixth season under new coach Daisy Pearce.

Bella Lewis has been appointed vice-captain for a successive season, but will be joined this year in the role by 20-year-old Charlie Thomas, who took out the club's best and fairest in 2023.

Two recruits have clearly had a big impact in a short space of time, with Jess Hosking and Matilda Sergeant – who will miss the season with a torn ACL – rounding out the leadership group.

It's a freshened leadership group, which has lost Dana Hooker (pregnancy), Aisling McCarthy (Fremantle) and Jess Sedunary (retired) over the off-season.

West Coast's 2024 AFLW leadership group (L-R): Matilda Sergeant, Bella Lewis, Emma Swanson, Charlie Thomas and Jess Hosking. Picture: West Coast FC