Jack Riewoldt and Alastair Lynch at the announcement of the commitment to establishing a 19th AFL team in Tasmania, at North Hobart Oval on May 3, 2023. Picture: Getty Images/AFL Photos

THREE-TIME premiership winner Alastair Lynch is among the Tasmanian club's nine-person board of directors.

The League's newest expansion club revealed its inaugural board on Tuesday night, following the selection of Grant O'Brien as chair in July. 

Tasmania was granted the League's 19th licence in May, ending the island state's decades-long battle for inclusion in the national competition.

Lynch, who was born in Burnie in the state's northwest and played 306 games at the highest level, was selected on the back of his career, leadership and media skills. 

Jon Brown and Alastair Lynch celebrate after winning the 2003 Toyota AFL Grand Final. Picture: AFL Photos

The club has also engaged former Richmond star and Hobart-born Jack Riewoldt to lead a community consultation project dubbed 'The Fabric'. 

“The Fabric will represent each and every strand that makes up the rich tapestry of our club, who we are, what we stand for, what we believe in, our history and our collective vision for the future," Riewoldt said.

"I am excited to be able to play a role in ensuring that the culture of this club is one where every Tasmanian has a sense of connection, belonging and pride."

Jack Riewoldt completes a lap of honour after his final game during the R23 match between Richmond and North Melbourne at the MCG on August 19, 2023. Picture: AFL Photos

The board was agreed upon by the AFL and state government with input from a nomination committee including incoming AFL boss Andrew Dillon. 

The board includes the chair of the Tasmanian Aboriginal Centre Graeme Gardner, who will work as an Aboriginal advisor. 

O'Brien said leaders in finance, commercialisation, leadership, community engagement, infrastructure, football, marketing, media and risk management had been selected.

"With key people now appointed the foundations are set to move the club forward," O'Brien said.

Grant O'Brien speaks in July, 2023 after being unveiled as the inaugural chair of Tasmania's AFL club. Picture: Alex Lee

He said initial tasks of the board included establishing a business plan, as well as playing a role in the delivery of a new $715 million roofed stadium in Hobart.

The proposed stadium, a condition of a Tasmanian team playing in the AFL, has attracted some community and political opposition. 

In May, the Liberal government was plunged into minority when two members quit the party over concerns about the AFL deal. 

The club has also decided to set up a women's football advisory panel to be headed by experienced administrator Julie Kay. 


* Grant O'Brien (chair)
* Kath McCann (former Tourism Tasmania director of marketing)
* James Henderson (former Hawthorn sales and marketing director)
* Alastair Lynch (three-time premiership winner, media presenter)
* Alicia Leis (World Vision Australia non-executive director)
* Roger Curtis (Abetz Curtis Lawyers managing director, former Tasmanian Football League commissioner)
* Laura McBain (Capital Health non-executive director)
* Graeme Gardner (Tasmanian Aboriginal Centre chair, Rocherlea Football Club president)
* Kathy Schaefer (TasNetworks and Sustainable Timber Tasmanina non-executive director)