THE NEWEST batch of Australian Football Hall of Famers will be inducted across the next four nights from Monday.

Triple premiership-winning Lion Simon Black will be among them, after being voted in by the Hall of Fame committee last year but unable to attend because of his Australian Survivor commitments.


Up to six Hall of Fame members can be enshrined each year, including at least two who have retired within 10 years of the induction ceremony.

WE SALUTE YOU Full Hall of Fame coverage here

There also must be a minimum of one inductee from the administrator/umpire/media category every two years.

09:14 Mins
Published on

Last Time I Cried: 'He's not coming back. What's next?'

In the next instalment with Hamish McLachlan, Patrick Dangerfield opens up about the passing of Adelaide coach Phil Walsh in 2015

Published on

Players must be retired for at least five seasons to be eligible for induction, while coaches, umpires, administrators and media representatives are eligible only after retirement.

That means the likes of Luke Ball, Jonathan Brown, Dean Cox, Darren Glass, Lenny Hayes, Ryan O'Keefe and Ben Rutten are in contention for the first time.

There will also be another Legend inducted, with the recipient to become the 29th member of football's most prestigious group.

HALL OF FAME The 28 Legends

Gary Ablett snr (who was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2005), Wayne Carey (2010), Jason Dunstall (2002), Russell Ebert (1996), Ken Farmer (1998) and Greg Williams (2001) are among the playing contenders.

03:14 Mins
Published on

Remarkable Ablett kicks nine goals in 1989 Grand Final

Thirty years ago today Geelong champion Gary Ablett Snr produced one of the greatest performances in history

Published on

If it's to be a coach, then any of John Cahill (2002), Frank 'Checker' Hughes (1996), Allan Jeans (1996), John Kennedy snr (1996), David Parkin (2002) and Fos Williams (1996) would be worthy.

Former Essendon and Greater Western Sydney coach Kevin Sheedy, who played 251 games for Richmond, was the most recent individual elevated to Legend status two years ago

Telstra Live Pass subscribers can watch the event on the AFL Live Official App from 8.30pm AEST from Monday to Thursday. Fox Footy will also be broadcasting it at the same time.