WEST Coast premiership coach John Worsfold is one of four additions to a revamped AFL Laws of the Game committee.

Collingwood premiership player Michael Christian, umpiring director Wayne Campbell and umpire's coach Hayden Kennedy are the other new members of the committee.

The quartet replace the retiring Kevin Bartlett, Jeff Gieschen and Rowan Sawers, as well as Peter Schwab – who now works as the head of coaching and development at the Brisbane Lions.

Speaking to SEN Radio following his departure, Barlett was critical of the amount of interchanges in the modern game, claiming he would like to see the rules encourage players to complete full matches.

AFL football operations Mark Evans thanked Bartlett, Sawers, Gieschen and Schwab for their service to the committee.

"On behalf of the AFL, I wish to sincerely thank Kevin, Jeff, Rowan and Peter for their enormous contribution to the discussions around the laws process," Evans said.

The laws committee consists of Evans (chairman), Worsfold, Christian, Campbell, Kennedy, Joel Bowden, Brett Burton, Rodney Eade, Tom Harley, Leigh Matthews, Michael Sexton and Beau Waters.

Meanwhile, Richmond champion Matthew Richardson has joined the All Australian selection committee.