WHERE: Crown Palladium, Melbourne

WHEN: Monday September 23, 8:15pm

THE RED CARPET: The night is almost as much about the fashion as the Brownlow Medal itself. Partners of AFL players have the chance to dress up and strut their stuff on the red carpet, prior to the count at about 7:30pm.

THE DRESSES: As mentioned above, the fashion has become an integral part of proceedings. There have been a number of famous frocks that have created quite a stir, including Rebecca Twigley (2004), Tania Buckley (2001), Rachel McLeod (2006). 

WHAT IS THE BROWNLOW? The Brownlow Medal is the AFL's highest individual honour, awarded to the best and fairest player of any given home and away season. The Charles (Chas) Brownlow Medal was first instituted in 1924 to perpetuate the memory of Charles Brownlow – the Geelong administrator who died aged 62 on January 23, 1924. 

HOW THE VOTING WORKS: At the end of each home and away game across the AFL season, the three field umpires reach a consensus on who they believe are the most influential players on the ground. They then enter their votes on a 3, 2, 1 basis.

Winner Chris Judd and his partner Rebecca Twigley during the 2004 count. Picture: AFL Media

WHERE THE VOTES ARE STORED: The umpires have to deliver their votes to AFL House when lodging the matchday paperwork. The votes are then stored at Armaguard head office in a locked safe. On the night, the envelopes are delivered by Armaguard truck and are only opened once the count begins.

WHO ATTENDS: Past winners and their partners, AFL Commission members, and then each club invites five players – including the captain. The past winners from those teams are also given the option of attending, in addition to the five players.

THE MEDAL: The Brownlow Medal is made by Melbourne-based company Cash's – which also constructs the premiership cup and Norm Smith Medal. The AFL has three Brownlow Medals on hand on the night, while the League has already flown a medal over to Perth and Sydney (in case a Swan, Giant, Eagle or Docker wins). Once the winner receives his medal, he is allowed to hold onto it.

ELIGIBILITY: Players who are eligible to win the medal must not receive more than 100 points in an incident assessed by the Match Review Panel during the year. If suspended for a game, a player is ineligible to win the award.

Host Bruce McAvaney speaks to 2011 winner Dane Swan, the Collingwood midfielder. Picture: AFL Media


Gary Ablett (Gold Coast) - $1.60

Joel Selwood (Geelong) - $3.75

Sam Mitchell (Hawthorn) - $5.50

Scott Pendlebury (Collingwood) - $10

Dane Swan (Collingwood) - $10

Kieren Jack (Sydney Swans) - $26


Michael Barlow (Fremantle) - $34

Ryan Griffen (Western Bulldogs) - $34

Daniel Hannebery (Sydney Swans) - $34

Jarryd Roughead (Hawthorn) - $41

Trent Cotchin (Richmond) - $51

Patrick Dangerfield (Adelaide) - $51

Jobe Watson (Essendon) - $51

Prices correct at time of printing and subject to change.  For latest prices, visit tab.com.au


2012: Jobe Watson (Essendon) – 30 votes

2011: Dane Swan (Collingwood) – 34 votes

2010: Chris Judd (Carlton) – 30 votes

2009: Gary Ablett (Geelong) – 30 votes

2008: Adam Cooney (Western Bulldogs) – 24 votes

2007: Jimmy Bartel (Geelong) – 29 votes

2006: Adam Goodes (Sydney Swans) – 26 votes

2005: Ben Cousins (West Coast) – 20 votes

2004: Chris Judd (West Coast) – 30 votes

2003: Nathan Buckley (Collingwood), Adam Goodes (Sydney Swans), Mark Ricciuto (Adelaide) – 22 votes


3 – Haydn Bunton – Fitzroy (1931, 1932, 1935)

3 – Dick Reynolds – Essendon (1934, 1937, 1938)

3 – Bob Skilton – South Melbourne (1959, 1963, 1968)

3 – Ian Stewart – St Kilda/Richmond (1965, 1966, 1971)

AFL.com.au COVERAGE: There will be a live chat starting from 7pm, a full gallery of photos, a video package direct from the red carpet and a Brownlow tracker for minute by minute voting.

Twitter: @AFL_BenGuthrie