THE inaugural rebel VFLW Coaches Player of the Year voting has gone behind closed doors for the final three rounds of the season.

Voting has continued, with last weekend’s Round 12 votes having already been recorded and will be revealed at the VFLW Awards, to be held later in the year.

Essendon captain and reigning Lambert-Pearce medallist Georgia Nanscawen was leading a thrilling count by one vote from Southern Saints star Hannah Stuart, with Geelong ball magnet Laura Gardiner in third ahead of Hawthorn captain Tamara Luke and another Cat in Paige Sheppard.

As with the AFL Coaches Association Player of the Year, the VFLW award is voted on by the coaches of each club after every game in both competitions.

The coaches are awarding 5-4-3-2-1 to their best players in the game from either team, with those votes collated and revealed each week on

Another five new players attracted the coaches’ attention for the first time in Round 10, making it 212 who have polled votes for the season.

Southern Saint Hannah Stuart (under pressure from Mali McLeod) was sitting in second spot in the VFLW Coaches Player of the Year award. Picture: Morgan Hancock/AFL Photos

(After Round 11)

55 Georgia Nanscawen (Ess)
Hannah Stuart (SS)
50 Laura Gardiner (Gee)
43 Tamara Luke (Haw)
43 Paige Sheppard (Gee)
Aimee Whelan (Wil)
37 Angelica Gogos (Dar)
Nicole Callinan (Dar)
36 Amelia Radford (Ess)
Tahlia Fellows (Cas)

Twitter: @BRhodesVFL

In a first for the rebel VFLW, all matches in 2022 are live streamed free. One VFLW feature match per week can be watched live via and the AFL Live Official App. All remaining games are live and on demand at
To access live scores, results, ladder, stats and to link to live streams/replays, download the VFL/W Official App from the Apple or Google Play app stores.