Morrish Medal

The Morrish Medal was first presented the year after the formation of the League thirds competition and was awarded to the player voted best and fairest in that grade by the field umpires. It perpetuates the memory of long-serving (1922) reserve grade treasurer Tom Morrish.

In 1959 the competition was renamed the VFL 19s. In April 1992 three players, who had previously been eliminated on a countback, were awarded medals retrospectively for seasons 1961, 1974 and 1976. Since 1992 the medal has been presented to the NAB League Boys under-18s player of the season.

Year Player Club
2023 Patrick Hughes
Colby McKercher
Geelong Falcons
Tasmania Devils
2022 Taj Campbell-Farrell
Lachlan Cowan
Dandenong Stingrays
Tasmania Devils
2021 Flynn Lakey
Joshua Rentsch
Calder Cannons
GWV Rebels
2020 No winner due to COVID-19
2019 Lucas Rocci Western Jets
2018 Liam Stocker Sandringham Dragon
2017 Jack Higgins Oakleigh Chargers
2016 Hugh McCluggage North Ballarat Rebels
2015 Clayton Oliver Murray Bushrangers
2014 Alex Carr Gippsland
2013 Jacob Chisari
Ben Cavarra
George Cameron
Josh Scott
Bendigo Pioneers
Eastern Ranges
Geelong Falcons
Gippsland Power
2012 Nick Graham Gippsland Power
2011 Alex Benbow Dandenong Stingrays
2010 Dyson Heppell
Jackson Sketcher
Gippsland Power
Sandringham Dragons
2009 Anton Woods Northern Knights
2008 Farran Priest
Jarryd Blair
Murray Bushrangers
Gippsland Power
2007 Matthew Kreuzer Northern Knights
2006 Fortunato Caruso Calder Cannons
2005 Fortunato Caruso Calder Cannons
2004 Matthew Bate Eastern Ranges
2003 Mungara Brown Northern Knights
2002 Luke Shackleton Tassie Mariners
2001 David Rodan Calder Cannons
2000 David Rodan Calder Cannons
1999 Matthew Stolarczyk Gippsland Power
1998 Lenny Hayes NSW/ACT Rams
1997 Derek Murray Murray Bushrangers
1996 Nathan Brown Bendigo Pioneers
1995 Paul Hood Geelong Falcons
1994 Gary Moorcroft Northern Knights
1993 Dean Watson Southern Stingrays
1992 Brad Smith Northern Knights