TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content

Latest News

Top Saints pick signs new deal before playing a game

Max King, St Kilda's top pick at the 2018 NAB AFL Draft, has will be a Saint until the end of 2022

6:45pm  Mar 20, 2019

How a gambling addiction almost destroyed a Lion's life

Allen Christensen lost hundreds of thousands on the punt during his time at Geelong

5:42pm  Mar 20, 2019

Star Hawks recruit set for two crucial fitness tests

Tests could determine whether gun Hawthorn recruit will be ready to play in round two

4:07pm  Mar 20, 2019

Latest Videos

Gardiner Medal

Instituted seven years after the formation of the League seconds, the Gardiner Medal was named after the late Frank Gardiner, a president of the competition. In 1959 the seconds was renamed the VFL reserve grade.

The medal was awarded to the best and fairest player as adjudged by field umpires until the reserves competition was terminated at the end of the 1999 season. In April, 1992 three players, who had previously been eliminated on a countback, were awarded medals retrospectively for seasons 1950, 1970 and 1971.

Past Winners

1999 D. Healy St Kilda
1998 S. Arnott Sydney
1997 B. Lloyd Hawthorn
1996 T. Nichols North Melbourne
1995 S. Crawshay Hawthorn
1994 D. Bain Fitzroy
1993 R. Keogh Melbourne
1992 M. Dwyer St Kilda
1991 S. Anderson Collingwood
1990 R. Keogh Melbourne
1989 M. Kol Geelong
1988 T. Liberatore Footscray
1987 B. Gotch St Kilda
1986 T. Liberatore Footscray
1985 G. Dear Hawthorn
1985 J. Bennett Hawthorn
1984 J. Stephenson Footscray
1983 J. Taylor Footscray
1982 R. Merrett Essendon
1981 D. Vernon Richmond
1981 M. Reed Geelong
1980 W. Valli Essendon
1979 C. Boyd Essendon
1978 A. Goad Hawthorn
1977 D. Schimmelbusch North Melbourne
1976 A. Mangels Carlton
1975 N Chamberlain Melbourne
1974 S. Clifford Collingwood
1973 V. Catoggio Carlton
1972 M. Pokrovsky Footscray
1971 B. Brown Melbourne
1971 R. Heard Collingwood
1970 M. Redenbach North Melbourne
1970 P. Callery Melbourne
1969 K. Emselle Melbourne
1968 P. Rhoden Melbourne
1967 R. Graham Geelong
1966 D. Herrod Geelong
1965 K. Jackman Footscray
1964 G. Arnold Richmond
1963 W. Clark Fitzroy
1962 J. Gutterson Footscray
1961 J. O’Brien North Melbourne
1960 N. Trezise Geelong
1959 W. Shelton Hawthorn
1958 J. Fisher Hawthorn
1957 L. Pridham Essendon
1956 G. Kerr Melbourne
1955 D. Davies Geelong
1954 N. Pearson Hawthorn
1953 C. Austen Richmond
1952 L. O’Halloran Geelong
1951 J. O’Halloran Essendon
1951 N. Doolan North Melbourne
1950 D. Davies Geelong
1949 K. Coghlan Collingwood
1948 J. Ryan Footscray
1947 P. Twomey Collingwood
1946 J. McLeod Footscray
1945 H. Arthur North Melbourne
1944 R. Wearmouth Footscray
1943 E. Hart Melbourne
1942 K. Taylor St Kilda
1941 P. McNamara South Melbourne
1940 A. Price Carlton
1939 N. Smith Essendon
1938 B. Calverley Fitzroy
1937 A. Peake St Kilda
1936 M. Boyall Collingwood
1935 J. Kinnear Melbourne
1934 R. Saunders Richmond
1933 E. Utting Hawthorn
1932 A. Logan Hawthorn
1931 A. Franke North Melbourne
1930 M. Kelly Geelong
1930 S. Baker Richmond
1929 R. Ross Collingwood
1928 J. Money Geelong
1928 N. Driver Melbourne
1927 S. Jamieson Richmond
1926 A. Jacobson South Melbourne
1926 R. James Essendon